God’s Number is 20

rubiks_cube.jpg

My dad got me a Rubik’s cube when i was a little boy, perhaps 6 or 7 years old. He told me that if i could solve it, he would give me $5. Then he randomized it a bit, tossed it to me, and let me get cracking. 

To this day, 27 years later, i’ve still never ever completely solved a Rubik’s cube. Never. 

Then i find this website telling me that mathematically, regardless of how the cube is initially randomized, there are ALWAYS 20 moves that can be made to get it back to solved. I’m still trying to get my head around how that’s possible. 20 twists of the cube will solve ANY randomized cube? Really?

Then there is an iPhone app that shows you exactly how to solve a cube in 20 moves or less. 

Gosh. I’m feeling really stupid now.

Leave a Reply

