Playing with light

I spent the whole day today watching a DVD set i bought online, “Lighting in Layers“. The best RM320 i’ve spent so far in my pursuit of being a better photographer. David Hobby, the person in the video, is the blogger for Strobist, perhaps THE go-to blog if you are interested in lighting in photography. Artificial light (i.e. flash/strobes) as compared to available light, being able to control it can make a huge difference in how your photographs turn out.

I’ve always thought of photography as a the control of light, first and foremost. Yes, composition is a huge part of the art, but what’s the point if you don’t get the light right? The best composition will still turn out dull and flat or dark and ineligible. Having said that, i’ve always been “afraid” of artificial light, mostly because i have no idea how to control it. Generally relying on luck to pull me through on the rare occasions when i have used it, the fear factor has led me to be far more comfortable with available light photography. The downside to this, of course, is that light is not always available. And even when it is, it doesn’t always do what you want it to do. Hence the value in artificial light, and the control that you have over it.

“Lighting in Layers” has helped me understand quite a bit of what i didn’t before, about artificial light. I’m still internalizing most of what i’ve learned, but i just couldn’t help myself. I strapped on my flash and took a shot.

IMG_3755-Edit

IMG_3761-Edit

Lit with a Canon 580EXII at 1/32 power.

Leave a Reply

