Shooting film, noir en blanc

The first camera i ever held in my hands was a Nikon EM; it was put there by my father, and i have fond memories of him teaching me how to use it as a young boy — i was perhaps 5 or 6 years old. It was a mystical object, i remember. Look through the viewfinder, line up the split prism, and press the shutter. Once the roll was done, we had to spin the rewind lever to roll up the film, then drop it off at the pharmacist and a few days later pick up the prints. Then, we would look at the photos together and marvel at the magic of captured memories.

It would be years later, this year in fact, when i’d actually hold a film camera again, but it brings me back to those days gone by. I can almost feel my father’s hands on mine, guiding me to take the photograph, as i hold my film camera now, a Canon AE-1 Program. I’ll leave the gear review for another day. For now, let’s just enjoy the results.

Shot with Ilford Delta 100 and Delta 400 XP2. Hand processed, then scanned with an Epson Perfection 2450.

0012

An African Friday’s

0037

Danial Smurthwaite, chiseled

0027-2

Cupcake

0017-2

Bride & Groom

0019

Lightpost

Trackback: Ming Thein’s “Film diaries: the first roll”

Leave a Reply

